1. Every month we put a U2 fan in the spotlight. The fan of the month for February 2018 is user wtonis. Read along for the interview we had with this U2 fan.

"U2 played one hour from where I lived. I begged my parents to allow me to go, but they wouldn’t let me. At that day I made a promise to myself that I would never miss out on a U2 tour again."

Tell us something about yourself, who are you and what do you do for a living?
    My name is Willy Tonis, 46 years old and I’m a teacher of English and senior study advisor at a school for secondary education.

How did you become a fan of U2, tell us how it happened?
    Back in 1984 when I listened to the popcharts a lot finding my way into popular music I heard U2’s Pride (in the name of love) on the radio. When I saw the video clip a bit later with footage of the band playing in the ballroom mixed with footage of the Dublin docks I knew I had found my musical destination at that time.

You have seen U2 for a period of more than 30 years, can you tell us how it all started?
    In the summer of ’85 U2 played a number of summer festivals, one of them in Munster, Germany. The place was an hour’s drive from where I lived. I begged my parents to allow me to go, but they wouldn’t let me. At that day I made a promise to myself that I would never miss out on a U2 tour again. In 1987 I queued for an entire night to get a ticket for the Joshua Tree Tour at Rotterdam Stadium. I went there with one of those organised bus trips. I had a mighty good day and the moment the band got on stage with the extended intro of ‘Streets’ I experienced this adrenaline thrill for the first time.

What was your favourite tour and why was that?
    That’s a difficult question. I think the ZOO TV Tour was amazing, pushing technology to the limit and the band playing 8 songs of Achtung Baby in the first part of the show.

Can you list us your 3 most special shows you've been to and tell us why they are so special to you?