1. "ish.. I recently dived into some audio-editing software and have to say I am an absolute beginner... But I always wondered how the 2017/19 RHMT live version would sound with (the original) guitars instead of the keyboards.

So I did a "remix" I did of the 2017 live version of Red Hill Mining Town with the Guitars of the 1987 version. Gottal say though it was a 3-day project and very hard to match tempo and key. But here is the first version (at last)

For those interested, this is how I (think I) did this:

- Took the Red Hill Mining Town Album track, put it through Audacity and changed the key of the song from G to F (as the did live) without changing the tempo.

- Then took that track and tried to match it for BPM with the Vancouver 2017 version that I used. This took forever (2 days), but did it very easily via Virtual DJ in the end.

- Then I splitted the audio via this Spleeter AI tool into 4 separate tracks (Vocal, Drums, Bass, "Other") The guitar is in the "Other" track, which I saved separately.

- I did the same with the 2017 Vancouver live version. The "Other" 1/4th part contains the piano in that one and I lowered the volume on that by 50%

- Then created a new stereo track of the "hold the piano" version of 2017 and put the '87 tempo- and key corrected guitar alongside that. Then exported the 1x stereo + 1x mono and this is the "mix" I suppose :-)

PS. It sounds like in the middle the guitar is a (tiny) bit behind but it really measures up over the whole part. Have some ideas about how that appears to be..
  2. Thanks for sharing. I'm not sure about Bono's vocal take on that one.
  3. Well, here's one for you then..

I'm getting to learn this software and just did an "inverted" version in 5 mins.. So here's the 2017 live version (with piano, no guitars), but with Bono's 1987 voice mixed in:

Changes: