1. I'm no expert but from what I gathered is that (depending on where the geographic spread starts and how soon you start measures) typically around 80% of (guessed) actual infected have very minor symptoms.

2 weeks ago I felt weirdly tired for 2 days and felt like my breathing was a little different. So I might have had it or it was stress, which can cause... tiredness and (mild)hyperventilation. Since I had the latter many times the last years I didn't pay any attention to it.

So while that all sounds optimistic, a (way) larger group than with regular Flu (I read about 10%) wil get seriously ill. The Dutch must be pretty much immune to everything I suppose, but as of today half of our national IC-capacity is taken by people with Corona.

So while deadliness will be determined when this is over, it is very apparent that a small but significant part (5-10% I read) of people infected will become seriously ill. This includes 20-30-40 somethings that are in the hospital for 2 weeks and describe it as hell.

The actual death numbers aren't the alarming factor (as of today) In the heavy Flu season of '18 25.000 excess deaths in Italy were attributed to that Flu.

People don't seem to understand that if you don't take measures 60-80% will get the virus within a month. And let's say the "very ill" numbers would still apply that means you have to have a hospital bed ready (and healthcare) for 5% of the population. As an example (and to no one in personal) this would add up to roughly 7 Million in the US for example whereas (just checked) it has a grand total of 924,107 hospital beds. So that's 1 taken care of out of 7..

2. I'm sorry man, but The Federalist is a hyperpartisan right wing website with no more credibility than Infowars or Gateway Pundit. These are the kind of "stories" they push: