1. Every month we put a U2 fan in the spotlights, the fan of the month December of 2021 is user U2sBiggestFan. Read along for the interview we had with this U2 fan.

"My earliest memory of U2 would be seeing the video to the sweetest thing on tv as an 8 year old, I can remember filling a 90 minute cassette tape with just that track. "

Tell us something about yourself, who are you and what do you do for a living?

My name is Wayne, I’m 31 years old and live in Harwich, a small town in Essex England. Most famous for its ferry to the hook of Holland. I live with my Wife, 6 year old Daughter and my Son who is now 4 years old. I work as a Support Worker for people with acquired brain injury’s, and have been doing this for 6 years. It can be a very rewarding job at times but it’s also mentally draining.

How did you become a fan of U2, tell us how it happened?

My earliest memory of U2 would be seeing the video to the sweetest thing on tv as an 8 year old, I can remember filling a 90 minute cassette tape with just that track. But I’d say I properly got into U2 when the best of 1990-2000 came out, I remember getting the cd for Christmas that year and my collection grew quickly from there. Stay (faraway, so close) stood out for me, I thought it was an amazing track. Bomb was the first album they released since I become a fan, I can remember the day it was released sitting in school just itching to get home to give it a listen.

Does anyone in your family or one of your friends like U2? If so, did they introduce you to U2, or did you "convert" them?

My mum was a casual fan before I was so I’ve always been around there music. I’ve taken my best friend to the last few shows and he enjoyed them but just wanted the hits. So not for the lack of trying I don’t have anyone to talk U2 with.

Your first show was 360 in London, what was that first experience like?