2017-05-12 - Vancouver, British Columbia - BC Place Stadium


setlist

Support act: Mumford & Sons
Performance notes: Live debuts of Red Hill Mining Town and unreleased song The Little Things That Give You Away. First performance of Trip Through Your Wires since 20 December 1987, Exit since 14 October 1989, A Sort of Homecoming since 16 October 2001, Running to Stand Still since 15 July 2005, Mothers of the Disappeared since 15 September 2010, MLK since 8 October 2010, One Tree Hill since 2 July 2011, Ultra Violet since 9 July 2011, and Miss Sarajevo since 15 October 2011.
Setlist and comment provided by U2gigs.com.

songs per album

  1. The Joshua Tree (11)
  2. The Unforgettable Fire (3)
  3. War (2)
  4. All That You Can't Leave Behind (2)
  5. Achtung Baby (2)
  6. Passengers (1)
  7. Songs Of Experience (1)

best song performances

  1. A Sort Of Homecoming (9 votes)
  2. The Little Things That Give You Away (8 votes)
  3. Red Hill Mining Town (3 votes)

We would like to know which shows you attended and which shows you are going to attend. On this page you can see which members attended or are going to attend this show. Maybe you can send some of them a private message to meet up or talk about this show.

show attendees: 109

32 users from Canada:
Achinery, Bmac, CrazyCanuck007, Dadu, DrMav, Linkin69, Ocean, PeteTheChop250, RAFS, Raincity77, Rita_YVR, RolandofGilead, TeeTw0, TestSpecimen, an_cat_dubh, audidriver, commodore, dcehl, glffntc, ifrimc, jahorro, letwaydown51, morbital, morganalex, nunomoreira1, paranoidgirl, pickle55_canada, rpjanzen, sholbech22, skosha68, sonichka, vinmono

8 from Washington:
DJSoulless, Jss451, Trancelation, VertigoWolf, ballardmama, chienjas, tls_sea, u2mofo

6 from Netherlands:
Jakeman, Remy, gerarddm, michelpas, phofstee, rubenennoa

5 from Oregon: Clockwerks, Coldsteel, LWood, nbelcik, vertigo12
5 from California: KenL, allad1nsane, gregmick, hoserama, u2fouru
5 from Maryland: Drungo, bridonohue, chambej1, mdmomof7, zootv1992
3 from Australia: Mattdwyer, rileyrat, u282
3 from Texas: U2Rthtown, rtask, zhan523
3 from United Kingdom: Deanomc2, Turkued, hondapop
2 from Colorado: elevation1975, jxbeutl
2 from Florida: evnicolas, u2gator
2 from Germany: aviefhues, woiferl
2 from Minnesota: mikeanderson929, moneyman2u
2 from Michigan: kristinabrwn580, theedge1020
2 from Arizona: elizabethseattle, malamute
1 from Mississippi: lestertriplett87
1 from Mexico: serch_73
1 from Kentucky: Trucolorsfly
1 from Idaho: BradF
1 from Spain: Forrest
1 from Norway: crowKB
1 from France: Judith86
1 from Utah: kulagun
1 from Ireland: kevinu267
1 from Chile: pepokiss
1 from Italy: socruel007
1 from New York: u2expert
1 from South Carolina: coastalchants
1 from Georgia: carsonborders99
1 from Indiana: Sharred7
1 from Nevada: U2Gat
1 from Poland: Wiercioch
1 from Illinois: WTSHNN
1 from Japan: cityofblindinglights2002
1 from Alabama: nigthor
1 from Ohio: LostSailor
1 from Costa Rica: vitonu2

review by Frontrow85

4 years ago

Performance

All were excellent. I though the Edge cut loose a bit less than some other shows. Bono's voice was excellent which is crucial to a good U2 show. Larry and Adam, awesome as always.

Sound

This part is only rated, not commented on
Recording: "JT2017 Vancouver - acetboy fix" - 3.5 stars

Audience

Very energetic and high energy during the songs that supported that, particularly early in the show and for the beginning of Joshua Tree. At other times very low. Bono tried to lead the crowd through a few different signing sections and one chant about power of the people most of which seemed to fail a bit or a lot.

Overall

This was my 9th U2 show having seen once every tour since 85. That means the 8th time I've seen them do the big JT hits. After the last tour I felt like I didn't want to hear them again because they have so many great songs that often only get played for the tour they are premiered at. However I knew I was getting a full dose of JT this time and was all good with it. And it did not disappoint. In fact it was awesome. The big hit lead off songs were of course fantastic and I thought most of the slower end songs were also awesome. Highlights were Where the streets Have No Name and Running to Stand Still. The first songs of the encore got the place going, but the ending was just flat and disappointing. Miss Sarajevo is not a great concert song and the energy was dead in the crowd. I thought the new song to close was a great song and it got rocking at the end. The boys all stood close to Larry and really got into it which was great. It never occurred to me this was the end though, so when they walked off we just assumed they were coming back for more since the show had been a bit short by this point anyway. They didn't and suddenly you realized it was over, which just felt weird. Overall good, but not the best U2 I've seen.

On a related note, sadly BC Place messed up big time on getting people in. I was there in what should have been plenty of time based on my many years of going there and ending up in line 2 1/2 hours. All of us outside missed the openers Mumford and Sons who I really wanted to see. No excuse is acceptable, moving large crowds into buildings is not a new thing. They tried something new and completely failed to comprehend the impact it would have. Again, not acceptable or excusable.


reviews from show attendees

show overall  
Birdman33ca Read more
Nonapus Read more
jennagirl Read more
Sydney_MIke Read more

all reviews

show overall  
DutchU2Fan Read more
fleavox Read more
cqleonardo Read more
Birdman33ca Read more
thet1000 Read more
Frontrow85 Read more
Nonapus Read more
jennagirl Read more
Blackout Read more
banksy Read more
powermonkey1979 Read more
Hoosier2012 Read more
mickyw1 Read more
Sydney_MIke Read more

Welcome to our audio page, on this page you can download lossy (MP3) and sometimes even the lossless (mostly FLAC) audio recordings (also known as bootlegs) of this show. The available recordings are sorted on the type of recording and the quality of the recording.

  • Recordings available: 6
  • Show downloads: 5563

U2start calendar

An amazing U2 photo for every month of the year. Order the U2start calendar and support the community.

"Wet Mix (Vancouver Wireless Matrix)"

  • Origins: Audience microphone, IEM
  • Credits: sharebear (Matrix Creator), Joe Ahorro (Audio Taper)
  • Equipment: Adobe Audition (Sound Editor), Nuendo 4 (Sound Editor), iZotope MBIT+ (Sound Editor)
  • Lineage: 4x Wireless Sources (iem) > Multitrack Recorder + Joe Ahorro's AUD rec. (km140 - PMD661 MKII) with patches from PHofstee's AUD rec. (MK4V - DR2D) - see info for full lineage
  • Quality based on reviews:
  • Downloads: 1134
View info file

Audio / FLAC

Bit depth: 16, sample rate: 44100, channels: 2
Download via Mega.nz
Audio samples

"30 years and I still can't play harmonica"

  • Origins: Audience microphone, IEM
  • Credits: phofstee (Audio Taper), Empress Valley (Silver Manufacturer)
  • Lineage: Unknown sources (IEM + AUD by phofstee) > MP3
  • Quality based on reviews:
  • Downloads: 2493

Audio / MP3

Bit rate: 192, bit depth: 16, sample rate: 44100, channels: 2
Download via Mega.nz
Download via Mediafire.com
Audio samples

" KM140 - PMD661 MKII "

  • Origins: Audience microphone
  • Credits: Joe Ahorro (Audio Taper)
  • Equipment: Neumann KM 140 (Microphone), Marantz PMD661 (Audio recording device)
  • Lineage: [.wav (24/44.1kHz)] > Audacity 2.1.3 > .flac >
  • Downloads: 25
View info file

Audio / FLAC

Bit depth: 16, sample rate: 44100, channels: 2
Download via Mega.nz
Audio samples

"JT2017 Vancouver - acetboy fix"

  • Origins: Audience microphone
  • Credits: joekickass (Audio Taper), acetboy (Remasterer)
  • Equipment: Zoom H2 (Audio recording device), abyssmedia (Sound Editor)
  • Lineage: Zoom H2 - abyssmedia - Freemake (audio converter) - flac - mp3
  • Quality based on reviews:
  • Downloads: 940
View info file

Audio / MP3

Bit rate: 320, bit depth: 16, sample rate: 44100, channels: 2
Download via Mega.nz
Audio samples

"Schoeps MK4V - Tascam Dr2D"

  • Origins: Audience microphone
  • Credits: phofstee (Audio Taper)
  • Equipment: Tascam DR-2D (Audio recording device), Schoeps MK4 (Microphone)
  • Lineage: [digital master (.wav 24/44.1kHz)] > Sound Forge > MAGIX Audio & Music Lab > .flac > fre:ac > mp3
  • Downloads: 206
View info file

Audio / MP3

Bit rate: 320, bit depth: 16, sample rate: 44100, channels: 2
Download via Mega.nz
Audio samples

"Edgerulz- ZoomH2 GA"

  • Origins: Audience microphone
  • Credits: Henderson7 (Uploader), joekickass (Audio Taper)
  • Equipment: Zoom H2 (Audio recording device)
  • Lineage: ZoomH2 (internal mics) > FLAC > MP3
  • Quality based on reviews:
  • Downloads: 898
View info file

Audio / MP3

Bit rate: 192, bit depth: 16, sample rate: 44100, channels: 2
Download via Mega.nz
Audio samples

Welcome to our photo page, on this page you can view and download high resolution and high quality photos of this show. No low resolution or low quality photos are accepted, you only see the very best of the best. Of course you can also upload your own high resolution and high quality photos easily.

photos by Peter Hutchins (115)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago
  1. U2 in Vancouver
  2. U2 in Vancouver
  3. U2 in Vancouver

photos by Jamie Taylor (80)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago | shot with camera: ILCE-6000
  1. Opening night in Vancouver
  2. Opening night in Vancouver
  3. Opening night in Vancouver

photos by Remy (30)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago | shot with camera: ILCE-6300 | copyright: Creative Commons
  1. Bono
  2. Bono
  3. Bono

photos by Jeff Hollett (16)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago
  1. Opening night in Vancouver
  2. Opening night in Vancouver
  3. Opening night in Vancouver

photos by Alfred Hermida (11)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago | copyright: Creative Commons
  1. Opening night in Vancouver
  2. Opening night in Vancouver
  3. Opening night in Vancouver

photos by Andrew Chobaniuk (11)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago | copyright: Creative Commons
  1. Bono Man
  2. Bono Man
  3. Bono Man

photos by Otto Kitsinger (10)

View entire set | added: 1 year ago
  1. The Joshua Tree Tour 2017 Vancouver 2017-05-12
  2. The Joshua Tree Tour 2017 Vancouver 2017-05-12
  3. The Joshua Tree Tour 2017 Vancouver 2017-05-12

photos by Michael Richardson (9)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago | copyright: Creative Commons
  1. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
  2. Elevation
  3. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For

photos by Danny North (3)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago
  1. The band in Vancouver
  2. Streets video
  3. Where The Streets Have No Name

photos by Jonathan Hayward (1)

View entire set | added: 4 years ago | shot with camera: NIKON D4
  1. Opening night in Vancouver