1. In 1997, I was a sophomore in high school when Pop came out. I consumed MTV, Rolling Stone, Spin etc. and listened to alt-rock radio like it was my job. I was mocked by the kids in school when I wore my Popmart t-shirt to school. Trust me... that album flopped in the US. It sold a lot because of the U2 fans that bought it, but it had literally zero impact on popular culture. It was most famous for being U2’s supposed fall from grace. News sources gleefully cited half empty stadiums and under-rehearsed early concerts. It was the first U2 album to come out during my fandom, and I was so excited to get caught up in the wave. Imagine my disappointment as a teenager when my favorite band are suddenly the least cool band on the planet!!

NLOTH was ignored by everyone. People took one listen to GOYB and said “NOPE! Not gonna buy that album” and moved on. But Pop was hated, because it was the cool thing to hate at the time. Had they released a different first single than Discotheque or GOYB, who knows what would’ve happened?
  2. siempre vi a NLOTH como el primo lejano de Achtung Baby lol
  3. Originally posted by muzika:[..]
    Pop was a lot more successful than anything they've done in the last 17 years

No. Vertigo is a bigger hit than any pop single. Bomb outsold pop.

As in post Bomb which is 17 years old
  4. Jeez!
  5. We're getting old 🤣🤣🤣 it's been a hell of a journey though. From 1989 or 90 when I got R+H on tape until now, shit .30+ years of loving U2. Now everyone's getting old and wrinkly. We all have our opinions of songs, albums, the direction of the band, etc, but I'm so thankful this community is still here 🍷
  6. Spare a thought for those of us coming up to 40 years of fandom. I was 17-18 like them when this journey started and War was the latest album. Now I'm on the downhill run towards 60. Still, I can't complain, they have provided the soundtrack for my adult life.