Joshua Tree Tour 2019
Legs (1): New Zealand, Australia and Asia
Shows: 15
  1. Again, so weird that its just a 5sec part that's technically not too difficult.

I wonder if it has to do with the tone/effects that the solo part would require him to jump to, (for only 5 secs), before jumping back, and that it wouldnt sound smooth. So it's a matter of 2 parts (chords, and solo) having to be played at same time. Only 1 can be by Edge, so pick and choose which one...
  2. Not to toot my own horn, but I am a pretty good guitar player. As such, I can safely say that Bono's guitar playing never added anything to the sound at all. It was always just a prop. There are of course instances where you can hear his playing, but it's mostly always extremely low in the mix. As a guitarist I know what Bono's abilities and limitations were... he never would've been able to play either guitar part of Best Thing. He would've been able to strum the chords to Invisible while Edge played the solo, that could've been done. Except that by 2015 he couldn't play guitar anymore. Not knocking Bono... the man is an exceptional singer, writer and entertainer... but a guitar player he is not, and never was. There is no song in U2's entire catalog that couldn't be done because Bono is no longer able to play guitar.

I've always thought U2 should have a 5th member onstage. A rhythm guitarist / keyboardist. Basically, a Terry, but onstage, and more involved. Some songs would sound better with a rhythm guitar. "All Because of You", for example... the foundation of the song just falls off when Edge plays his guitar leads... a full time rhythm guitar would help that.